AWE and ACIM are thrilled to announce the successful recipients of the 2023 Philippa Woolf Scholarship are Sarah Collins and Jamie Richardson.

AWE received almost 25 applications to the Scholarship from a range of extraordinary members working and volunteering in diverse roles across Australia. All applications were testament to the skills, experience and passion of the AWE membership.

Winner Sarah Collins is Emergency Management Lead for the Victorian Department of Transport and Planning, and is a volunteer Unit Controller for the Victorian State Emergency Service.

Winner Jamie Richardson is Planning Officer for the Northern Territory Emergency Service (NTES) and an active volunteer within the NTES Palmerston Volunteer Unit.

“It was exciting to see so many applications received this year and from such diverse groups across the sector performing very challenging roles in support of communities. The last few years have been very very difficult for the emergency management industry and after reading applications it is wonderful to see so many women outlining their experiences as they stepped into leadership roles across the emergency spectrum from prevention and mitigation through to recovery. Selecting winners from such a competitive group was very difficult and I really want to thank everyone who took the time to apply. I would encourage everyone to continue to invest in their professional networks including AWE as part of supporting their ongoing development.”

ACIM Director Philippa Woolf

Congratulations Sarah and Jamie, and thanks again to all applicants, keep an eye on our scholarships page for more opportunities